

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, January 17, 2025 CONTACT: 512-463-0715

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick Announces 2025 Texas Senate Committee Appointments

AUSTIN - Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick issued the following statement today upon announcing his Texas Senate committee appointments for the 89th Legislature:

"Texas has the population and economic strength of a separate nation. With the 8th largest economy in the world, we would be the 39th largest nation in geographic size, and the 50th largest in population if we were a country.

"When it comes to legislative bodies, the Texas Senate is clearly the best in the world. What the Texas Senate does matters. We impact public policy across the country and around the world. As Texas goes, so goes the nation. As the nation goes, so goes the world.

"I'm proud to serve as President of the Texas Senate and work with such talented and hardworking leaders, each in their own right. Throughout the interim, your senators have worked tirelessly to study the issues and prepare for this legislative session. With these committee appointments, the Texas Senate is hitting the ground running, ready to do the work the voters sent us to do."

To view Lt. Gov. Patrick's committee appointments, please click here.

###



Dan Patrick

Lieutenant Governor of Texas President of the Senate

89th Legislative Session Texas Senate Committees

Senate Committee on Administration

Bob Hall, Chair Adam Hinojosa, Vice Chair Molly Cook Sarah Eckhardt Lois Kolkhorst José Menéndez Mayes Middleton

Senate Committee on Border Security

Brian Birdwell, Chair Peter Flores, Vice Chair Sarah Eckhardt Adam Hinojosa Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa

Senate Committee on Business and Commerce

Charles Schwertner, Chair Phil King, Vice Chair César Blanco Donna Campbell Brandon Creighton Nathan Johnson Lois Kolkhorst José Menéndez Mayes Middleton Robert Nichols Judith Zaffirini

Senate Committee on Criminal Justice

Peter Flores, Chair Tan Parker, Vice Chair Brent Hagenbuch Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa Joan Huffman Phil King Borris Miles

Senate Committee on Economic Development

Phil King, Chair Kevin Sparks, Vice Chair Carol Alvarado Nathan Johnson Charles Schwertner

Senate Committee on Education K-16

Brandon Creighton, Chair Donna Campbell, Vice Chair Paul Bettencourt Brent Hagenbuch Adam Hinojosa Phil King José Menéndez Mayes Middleton Tan Parker Angela Paxton Royce West

Senate Committee on Finance

Joan Huffman, Chair Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa, Vice Chair Carol Alvarado Paul Bettencourt Donna Campbell Brandon Creighton Peter Flores Bob Hall Lois Kolkhorst Robert Nichols Angela Paxton Charles Perry Charles Schwertner Royce West Judith Zaffirini

Senate Committee on Health and Human Services

Lois Kolkhorst, Chair Charles Perry, Vice Chair César Blanco Molly Cook Bob Hall Kelly Hancock Bryan Hughes Borris Miles Kevin Sparks

Senate Committee on Jurisprudence

Bryan Hughes, Chair Nathan Johnson, Vice Chair Brandon Creighton Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa Mayes Middleton

Senate Committee on Local Government

Paul Bettencourt, Chair Mayes Middleton, Vice Chair Molly Cook Roland Gutierrez Robert Nichols Angela Paxton Royce West

Senate Committee on Natural Resources

Brian Birdwell, Chair Judith Zaffirini, Vice Chair Carol Alvarado César Blanco Peter Flores Kelly Hancock Bryan Hughes Tan Parker Kevin Sparks

Senate Committee on Nominations

Donna Campbell, Chair Brent Hagenbuch, Vice Chair Carol Alvarado Brian Birdwell Sarah Eckhardt Bryan Hughes Borris Miles Angela Paxton Kevin Sparks

Senate Committee on State Affairs

Bryan Hughes, Chair Angela Paxton, Vice Chair Paul Bettencourt Brian Birdwell Bob Hall Adam Hinojosa Mayes Middleton Tan Parker Charles Perry Charles Schwertner Judith Zaffirini

Senate Committee on Transportation

Robert Nichols, Chair Royce West, Vice Chair Paul Bettencourt Brent Hagenbuch Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa Nathan Johnson Phil King Borris Miles Charles Perry

Senate Committee on Veteran Affairs

Kelly Hancock, Chair Tan Parker, Vice Chair Sarah Eckhardt Roland Gutierrez Brent Hagenbuch Bob Hall José Menéndez

Senate Committee on Water, Agriculture, and Rural Affairs

Charles Perry, Chair Kelly Hancock, Vice Chair Brian Birdwell César Blanco Roland Gutierrez Adam Hinojosa Nathan Johnson Lois Kolkhorst Kevin Sparks