

AGENDA

SUNDAY, January 27

1:00PM-2:00PM Welcome and Orientation

UMW Leaders and Texas Impact Staff Opening Prayer - Darlene Alfred

2:00PM-3:30PM Advocacy 101

Texas Impact Staff

3:30PM-3:45PM BREAK

3:45PM-5:00PM Workshops

• Bold Storytelling—Jenifer Sarver

Talanoa: Dialogue for Community—Bee Moorhead

Courts & Ports—Erica Nelson and Scott Atnip

Oral Health: The Next Frontier—Annaliese Cothron

5:00PM-5:15PM BREAK

5:15PM-6:00PM Worship

Rev. Yvonne Coon Snelson, presiding

Sr. Pastor, First United Methodist Church, Georgetown

Centering Prayer - Grace Perez - Rio Texas Call to Worship - Lynne Grandstaff - CTC Scripture Reading - Vicki Busby - NTC Litany Leader - Cynthia Rives - NTC Benediction - Rev. Yvonne Coon

6:00PM-6:30PM BREAK



Keynote Address: Jenifer Sarver, Sarver Strategies

Pam West Zwickey - NWTX

8:15PM-8:45PM Strategy meetings by Senate district

8:30AM-8:45AM Greetings and Announcements

UMW Leaders and Texas Impact Staff

Opening Prayer - Ilka Vega

8:45AM-10:00AM Public Education

Beaman Floyd, Floyd Consulting

Suzii Paynter, Pastors for Texas Children UMW Focus Area: Economic Inequality

10:00AM-10:15AM BREAK

10:15AM-11:30AM Border and Immigration

Mike Seifert, ACLU of Texas Ilka Vega, Hope Border Institute

UMW Focus Area: Criminalization of Communities of Color

12:00PM-1:15PM LUNCH

Keynote Address: Thomas Ratliff, The Ratliff Company

Blessing - Greta McKelvey - NTC

1:15PM-1:30PM BREAK

1:30PM-2:30PM Climate, Energy, and Disaster

Doug Lewin, Energy Foundation UMW Focus Area: Climate Justice

2:30PM-3:30PM Maternal and Child Health

Representative Mary Gonzalez Representative Shawn Thierry



Patrick Bresette, Children's Defense Fund UMW Focus Area: Maternal and Child Health

3:30PM-5:30PM CONFERENCE CAUCUSES

Texas UMW Action Plan for 2019

5:30PM-6:30PM BREAK

6:30PM-8:00PM DINNER

Keynote Speaker: Harriett Jane Olson, UMW National CEO

Blessing - Paulette Moore-Hall - TX

• TUESDAY, January 29 •

7:00AM-8:30AM TRAVEL TO CAPITOL FOR LOBBY VISITS

8:30AM-9:00AM Capitol Orientation

9:00AM-11:00AM LEGISLATIVE VISITS

11:00AM-12:00PM Closing Discussion and Sending Forth

12:30PM Optional Capitol Tour

Texas United Methodist Women's Legislative Event Committee 2019

Grace M. Perez
Lynne Grandstaff
Mae Alexander
Pam West Zwickey
Paulette Moore - Hall
Carolyn Cobb
Elizabeth Jimenez
Susan Harris
Terry Schoenert
Theresa M. Graham
Sue Sidney
Ann McGinley
Cynthia Rives
Susan Torpy



Special Thanks to:

Cathy Herzog • Davey Vassalo/Groove Labs • Robert Moorhead